Skip to content

PTPTN Got Two Measures in Budget 2027. Only One of Them Is Yours.

One is a repayment table, sorted by income for two of its three rows and by your arrears record for the third. The other is a tax deduction your employer claims, it runs for two years, and it already existed from 2019 to 2021 and lapsed.

If a headline on 9 October told you PTPTN borrowers were getting a deferment and a 10% discount, it was not wrong. It was just one of two things that happened, and it probably did not say which one of them was aimed at you.

Two separate measures landed on PTPTN in Budget 2027. They sit in two different documents, they run through two different mechanisms, and they benefit two different people. One sorts borrowers into rows, two of them by income and the third by whether you are in arrears. The other hands a tax deduction to whoever employs you, and it is the one that could clear your loan outright.

Neither is in force, and they do not arrive by the same route. The employer deduction is a tax measure, and the appendix states it as a proposal rather than as law. The repayment table is PTPTN administering its own loans against an allocation, and PTPTN describes it as an initiative to be carried out in 2027. Either way, what you have today is announced rather than running, which is a useful thing to read and not a thing you can claim. Everything below is the position as at 18 October 2026, and PTPTN’s own published terms can change before either measure starts.

The two measures, side by side

The repayment tableThe employer deduction
Where it is writtenTouchpoint Budget summary, section 11, Pendidikan Untuk Semua, pages 26 and 27Tax Measures appendix 30, page 41
Who gets the benefitThe borrowerThe employer
What it isDeferment, a reduced minimum payment, or a 10% discount, by income and arrearsA tax deduction for an employer who repays an employee’s loan
Stated timing2027Repayments made 1 January 2027 to 31 December 2028
Money attachedRM196.0 millionNone stated in the appendix

The two measures above come from those two documents on the Ministry of Finance budget portal, not from the speech. The speech is a selection of what got said out loud. The written documents are what the measures are. Where anything below draws on PTPTN’s own published pages instead, it says so.

Measure one: a table you are sorted into, mostly by income

The summary sets out the facility as three rows.

BorrowerBenefit
Gross monthly income up to RM2,500Repayment deferred
Gross monthly income between RM2,501 and RM3,000Minimum payment of RM50 a month
Repaying to schedule, with no arrears10% repayment discount

Four things worth knowing about that table.

It is gross income. The document says pendapatan kasar bulanan, gross monthly income. That is the figure at the top of your payslip, before EPF, before SOCSO, which means the salary that puts you in a row is higher than the money that actually reaches you. If the lines on your payslip are a mystery, we took one apart line by line.

The first two rows carry a footnote and the third does not. The asterisk in the document sits on the two income rows only. The note attached to it says implementation is subject to verification of income information through a cross-check with the Inland Revenue Board. So both income bands are tied to that cross-check. PTPTN already runs an income cross-check on its existing no-income route, so the mechanism is not new to it. What neither budget document describes is how this one will work. The discount row carries no asterisk.

Neither document says what the 10% is 10% of. The summary says a 10% repayment discount and stops there. Ten percent of your outstanding balance and ten percent of what you paid over a year are very different amounts of money. PTPTN’s own statement on the measure does not name the base either, and says further details on implementation will be announced. Until that lands, the figure cannot honestly be turned into ringgit.

PTPTN adds a word the table does not carry. Its statement puts the discount with borrowers who are aktif, active, as well as free of arrears and paying regularly. The budget summary says only no arrears and regular repayment. If you have a loan you have stopped servicing, that extra word is the one to watch.

What already exists, because that is what tells you what actually changed

Deferment is not new. PTPTN already defers repayment and publishes the conditions. Its deferment table lists two grounds: you are continuing full-time study, or you are not working. Separately, a borrower with no income at all can update that on myPTPTN, which defers enforcement for six months and waives the monthly ujrah, once per borrower. That route is for ujrah loans only. PTPTN says a conventional borrower has to convert first.

The not-working ground is narrower than it sounds. It runs six months per application, it is capped at 24 months across your whole life, and the supporting documents PTPTN asks for are a detailed EPF statement and a current statutory declaration sworn before a Commissioner for Oaths.

So the change is not that deferment arrives. The change is that low income joins study and unemployment as a reason to qualify, and neither existing deferment ground reaches that person: working, earning, and not earning much. There is a route that reaches them already, though it is not deferment and it is for ujrah loans only. Under restructuring, PTPTN sets the minimum monthly instalment at an estimated 5% to 8% of gross monthly income, subject to its own agreement. On RM2,501 to RM3,000 that is roughly RM125 to RM240 a month, so the new RM50 row undercuts a facility that already exists rather than filling an empty space.

Two details the existing scheme already carries, both of which matter to the new one.

Ujrah is not charged during an approved deferment. PTPTN says so directly. Whether that treatment carries across to a deferment granted on income grounds is not stated in either budget document, and it is the difference between a pause and a pause that costs you nothing.

A deferment does not take you off CCRIS. This is the part worth stopping on. PTPTN’s own conditions say a deferment exempts you from enforcement action, and in the same breath say it does not prevent PTPTN from listing the borrower in CCRIS and channelling the name to other third parties for monitoring. CCRIS is the credit file Bank Negara keeps on you, and it is what a bank reads before deciding on your first car or home loan. If that file is unfamiliar, here is how to read your own. A paused loan is not an invisible one.

Measure two: appendix 30, and the Current Position that changes what it is

All thirty-six of Budget 2027’s tax appendices have the same three parts: Current Position, Proposal, Effective Date. We wrote about why reading them in that order matters the day before this budget was tabled, and appendix 30 is a clean example of why.

Its Current Position says that an employer making repayment of a PTPTN loan on behalf of an employee from 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2021 is eligible for an income tax deduction.

Read the date window, not the verb. This deduction already existed. It ran for three years and that window closed with 2021. Budget 2027 does not create it. It brings it back, for two years.

The proposal gives the deduction to an employer who repays an employee’s PTPTN loan, on three conditions:

  1. The employer imposes no payment on the employee in return for it.
  2. The employee is a full-time employee.
  3. The employee is not the owner of the business and has no family ties with the employer.

Effective for repayments made from 1 January 2027 until 31 December 2028.

Three things worth noticing about it.

The deduction belongs to your employer. If an employer does this, your benefit is that somebody else pays down your loan. It is the only one of the two measures that can clear the loan outright rather than trim it. A 10% discount takes a slice off. An employer repaying your loan can take all of it. It is also not a relief you claim, and not something you can apply for.

The appendix sets no cap. It states conditions and dates and no ceiling on the amount. What an employer can actually deduct is a question for the Inland Revenue Board and the tax legislation that implements this, not for the appendix.

Condition one is where the protection sits, and it is narrower than it looks. The appendix makes the employer’s deduction conditional on the employer imposing no payment on the employee in return for the repayment. That is a condition on the deduction, not a rule about conduct: an employer who does impose something has not broken a law, it has lost its deduction. Whether that reaches a retention bond, or a clawback if you resign, the appendix does not say, and there is no implementing legislation yet that would.

The check worth doing this week, whichever of these lands

Neither measure is in force yet. There is a check you can do today that pays either way.

PTPTN loans come in two kinds and they cost different amounts. PTPTN publishes the comparison itself.

ConventionalUjrah
Cost rateAdministration cost of 3% and 5%, on the reducing balanceUjrah of 1%, at a flat rate
Monthly costVaries, and rises towards a monthly maximum of the loan principal times 3% divided by 12, where repayment is inconsistent or in arrearsThe same every month
Monthly instalmentRises progressively across the first five yearsThe same every month
Restructuring or reschedulingNot eligible as a conventional loanEligible

Two rates sit in that first row, and which one applies to you follows from the date your loan was approved. The comparison table above names only the 3% and the 5%, but PTPTN’s 2011 information booklet carries the full schedule: 4% a year on the reducing balance before 1 January 2004, 3% from 1 January 2004, and 5% from 1 March 2007 for Masters, PhD and professional courses only. The 1% flat ujrah rate came in from 1 June 2008, and PTPTN’s note to that table describes it as replacing the 3% and 5% reducing balance method. So there are three conventional tiers rather than two, and the one that applies to you is a matter of your approval date and your course. What holds across all of them is the other side of the comparison: ujrah is 1% whichever conventional tier you are on, and the gap is wider at 4% or 5% than at 3%.

PTPTN puts the saving from converting at between 47% and 49% of the conventional loan’s cost. Its own worked example: a RM5,000 loan over five years carries RM474 of administration cost on conventional terms against RM250 of ujrah after conversion, a saving of RM224. That comparison table is headed at 3% a year, so the published band measures the saving against the lowest of the three conventional tiers. On 4% or 5% terms you are comparing against a bigger number.

The arithmetic, because only one side of it is checkable

One percent a year, the way PTPTN charges ujrah, means one percent of the original sum every year, no matter how much you have repaid. On RM5,000 that is RM50 a year, and five years of that is RM250. That is PTPTN’s figure to the ringgit, and the same calculation reproduces every other row of their table.

The conventional figure does not work that way, and you cannot rebuild it. PTPTN publishes RM474, but 3% on a reducing balance does not get you there: a RM5,000 loan at 3% on the reducing balance with level monthly instalments costs about RM390 over five years. The gap is consistent with something PTPTN states elsewhere, that the conventional instalment rises progressively over the first five years, which leaves more of the loan outstanding for longer. Their repayment and FAQ pages do not publish the schedule, so the number can be read off their table but not reconstructed from the rate.

What you can do is restate it into the same unit as the other one. RM474 of cost, on RM5,000, over five years, is RM474 divided by RM5,000 divided by 5, or 1.90% a year of the original sum.

Now the two are comparable, and in that unit it reads 1% a year against 1.90% a year rather than 1% against 3%. The cost is RM250 against RM474, a saving of RM224, which is 47%.

Do that to every row PTPTN publishes, restating the conventional cost as a percentage a year of the original sum, and it lands in the same narrow band each time.

LoanYearsConventionalUjrahConventional restatedUjrah restated
RM5,0005RM474RM2501.90%1.00%
RM10,0005RM948RM5001.90%1.00%
RM15,00010RM2,940RM1,5001.96%1.00%
RM21,00010RM4,116RM2,1001.96%1.00%
RM48,00015RM13,829RM7,2001.92%1.00%
RM64,00020RM24,470RM12,8001.91%1.00%
RM100,00020RM38,235RM20,0001.91%1.00%
RM150,00020RM57,354RM30,0001.91%1.00%

Only the last two columns are ours. Everything to its left is PTPTN’s own table, and their saving column reads 47, 47, 49, 49, 48, 48, 48, 48. That is the 47% to 49% in their heading, and it is a range rather than a single number for one reason only: the restated conventional cost drifts between 1.90% and 1.96% with the tenure, while the ujrah side is 1% on every row.

The term is set for you, and it decides whether converting late is worth it

The years column in that table is not PTPTN picking an illustration. PTPTN sets the repayment term by the size of the loan, and the same band sets the new term when you convert.

Loan, or the balance you convertTermIn years
Up to RM10,00060 months5
Above RM10,000 and up to RM22,000120 months10
Above RM22,000 and up to RM50,000180 months15
Above RM50,000240 months20

A maximum age of 60 sits over all four. Every one of the eight rows in PTPTN’s own saving table falls exactly on one of these bands, which is why the RM48,000 row runs 15 years.

Two things follow, and the second one is the catch.

The first is that repayment does not start when the money arrives. PTPTN’s repayment page puts the start at 12 months after the loan period ends. A loan taken in 2007 for a four-year degree began repaying around 2012 and, on the 15-year band, finishes in 2027. That loan is nineteen years old and fourteen years into repayment at the same time. Check which of those two clocks you are reading before you compare your position to anything in the table above.

The second is that converting assigns a new term based on what you still owe, and near the end of a loan the new term can run longer than the one you have left.

Say you borrowed RM48,000, you are twelve years into the 15-year band, and RM12,000 is left with three years to run. RM12,000 sits in the 120-month band, so the converted loan gets a fresh ten-year term. Ujrah at 1% a year of RM12,000 is RM120 a year, or RM1,200. Treat that as a floor rather than the figure, because PTPTN computes the new principal on your current balance including any advance payment balance, plus takaful and any costs owing.

Against that, what is left on conventional terms is small, because the conventional cost runs on the balance you still owe and your balance is nearly gone. Three years at 3% on a balance falling from RM12,000 to zero works out at about RM560. Call it RM700, because PTPTN’s published totals run roughly a fifth above what that arithmetic produces, and the reason PTPTN gives for the gap, an instalment that rises across the first five years, leaves more outstanding for longer and so pushes the late-year cost up rather than down. Either way, RM1,200 of ujrah against RM560 to RM700 of conventional cost means converting at that point costs you money.

Do not use the 1.92% from the table to check this. That figure is the whole-life cost restated as a percentage of the original RM48,000, and the last years of a reducing-balance loan cost less than the whole-life average.

There are two things PTPTN does not state, and both of them would move that answer. On its FAQ, its repayment page, its 2011 information booklet and both specimen agreements, PTPTN does not say whether it shortens the new term for someone converting near the end of a loan, and does not say whether unearned ujrah is rebated if you settle early. So if the years you have left are fewer than the new term your balance would be assigned, get two numbers from PTPTN before you apply: that new term, and the total ujrah on it.

One last thing about the 47% to 49%. That band compares two contracts run from day one, and nobody still on conventional terms is at day one. Conventional loans stopped going to new applicants in December 2008, so every one of them is at least seventeen years old by approval date. The published saving is a comparison of contracts rather than a figure you can collect, and what you would actually save turns on your balance and the years you have left.

This connects to both measures. PTPTN’s existing deferment conditions require an ujrah loan, and say an application is only approved once the ujrah conversion has been done. Restructuring and rescheduling are open to ujrah loans only as well. The difference between them and deferment is only in when you can lodge the application: PTPTN says a conventional borrower may apply for restructuring or rescheduling at the same time as the conversion application, rather than waiting for the conversion to finish. Whether the proposed income-based deferment inherits the conversion requirement is not stated anywhere, but if it does, a borrower on conventional terms who qualifies on income would have to convert before anything else could happen.

Conversion is open to anyone still on conventional terms. PTPTN puts it as open to all conventional borrowers, and names who is out: advance payment recipients who never took a loan, borrowers certified dead or incapacitated, borrowers who already got the first class exemption, and borrowers holding more than one conventional loan who will not consolidate them. Being under enforcement action does not disqualify you, PTPTN says so explicitly, though the arrears condition further down still applies. The shariah compliance sits in the contract, certified by the National Fatwa Committee on 28 July 2008, rather than in any condition on the borrower.

Conversion has no closing date. PTPTN says an application can be made at any time, and encourages converting earlier rather than later, because the saving is larger the earlier it happens. Once an offer is issued you have 14 days to return the completed agreement with its revenue stamp. Miss that and the offer is cancelled and you apply again on a larger loan, because PTPTN adds whatever costs have accrued in the meantime: administration cost, stamp duty, takaful and any enforcement or legal costs. One more precondition, and it catches more people than it sounds like it should. If you have arrears at all, PTPTN requires at least 50% of them settled first, along with enforcement and other costs where there are any, before the ujrah offer can be processed. It sets this out as a general condition of conversion rather than as something reserved for borrowers who have been sued: its own FAQ puts the case of a borrower who has had the final reminder and the demand notice but has not been sued, answers that they qualify, and then applies the same 50%. Where enforcement action has already been taken, the enforcement costs have to be settled in full.

One more piece of context on how these measures move. Budget 2026 narrowed the existing repayment waiver for first class honours graduates to low and middle income students at public universities only, with effect from 1 January 2026. A measure announced in a budget can be narrowed in a later one.

A caution on that 1%, because we have written about flat rates before

We have a whole post on how a flat rate hides what a loan really costs, where 3% flat on a car loan over nine years works out to around 5.5% once it is restated against the balance you actually owe. Do not run that lesson backwards here. On a PTPTN loan the flat-rate option is the cheaper one, and the reason is not that 1% is a smaller number than 3%. It is the arithmetic above: restated into the same unit, the conventional loan costs about 1.9% a year of the original sum and the ujrah loan costs 1%. The point of that post was never that flat rates are bad. It was that a headline rate and a restated rate are different things. On a car loan the restatement makes the loan look worse than the headline. Here it makes the cheaper option obvious. Same method, opposite direction.

The reframe

A measure announced in your name is not always a measure paid to you.

Two things were announced under the word PTPTN on the same day. One sorts you into a row by your gross salary and your arrears record, and ties two of its three rows to an income cross-check that neither budget document describes. The other hands a deduction to whoever employs you, for two years, having already run once and lapsed.

Neither of those is a bad measure. But the question worth asking of every line in every budget is who claims this, and from when, rather than whether it sounds generous. Both answers were printed, in two documents, on the day.

What to do this week

  1. Open myPTPTN and find out whether your loan is conventional or ujrah. Everything above turns on it, and it appears in neither budget document.
  2. Check your arrears position while you are in there. The 10% discount is the only one of the three rows with no verification footnote attached to it. What it turns on instead is your arrears, your repayment record, and PTPTN’s extra word, active.
  3. If you are on conventional terms, read PTPTN’s own conversion comparison before you decide. There is no deadline, and PTPTN itself says convert earlier rather than later. The published saving of 47% to 49% compares two contracts from day one, though, so if you have fewer years left than the new term your balance would be assigned, ask PTPTN for that term and the total ujrah before you apply.
  4. Do not act on the income bands yet. They are not in force, and the note attached to them ties both to an income cross-check with the Inland Revenue Board that neither budget document describes.

Want the cheat sheet?

📥 If you are trying to work out where your money actually goes each month, start at the top. The free Adulting Money Starter Kit decodes every line on your payslip and lays out your first 5 money moves. Get it here →